Around Bellingham Seattle Vancouver Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Special Collections (Wilson Library 6th floor) - Western Libraries - Western Washington University


address  516 High St.
 Bellingham, WA  98225
phone (360) 650-7747
library.wwu.edu/hr

Special Exhibit: The Global Book

Special Exhibit: The Global Book

Talks/Lectures
How do physical attributes in books reveal cross-cultural influences? Have the same creative impulses emerged in places hundreds of years and thousands of miles apart? Can juxtaposing one book with another tell us something about each that we cannot get by looking at just one? A new exhibition hosted by Western Libraries Heritage Resources raises these questions and invites viewers to consider books as one point of departure for exploring our shared global heritage. Among the materials on display are examples of manuscript illumination from medieval Europe and the Middle East; a selection of illustrated bindings produced in Japan, Europe, and the United States; a Quranic writing board; a Roman wax tablet; two Buddhist sutras; an original palm leaf manuscript; and several highlights from Western Libraries’ prominent Mongolian Studies collection.
exhibit;books;rare books;global books;special collections
Event Info: (360) 650-3097
Ages: All ages
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: library.wwu.edu/node/19341
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Mon 6/25/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 6/26/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 6/27/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 6/28/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 6/29/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 7/2/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/3/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 7/4/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 7/5/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 7/6/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 7/9/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/10/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 7/11/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 7/12/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 7/13/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 7/16/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/17/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 7/18/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 7/19/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 7/20/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 7/23/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/24/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 7/25/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 7/26/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 7/27/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 7/30/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 7/31/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/1/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/2/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/3/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 8/6/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 8/7/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/8/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/9/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/10/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 8/13/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 8/14/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/15/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/16/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/17/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 8/20/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 8/21/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/22/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/23/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/24/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 8/27/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 8/28/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 8/29/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 8/30/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 8/31/18 at 11am-4pm