Around Bellingham Seattle Vancouver Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Special Collections (Wilson Library 6th floor) - Western Libraries - Western Washington University


address  516 High St.
 Bellingham, WA  98225
phone (360) 650-7747
library.wwu.edu/hr

To the Mountaintop: A Social History of Mountaineering

To the Mountaintop: A Social History of Mountaineering

Education
Mountains are as much a part of the human psyche as they are a part of the landscape. In his last speech, Martin Luther King spoke of having “been to the mountaintop” and seen a land of greater promise, and Americans proudly sing the lines, “From every mountainside, let freedom ring.” Literally and symbolically, mountains are a source of liberation. But in helping some reach new heights, mountains have also been the backdrop to past and present struggles that have left others feeling looked down on. This exhibition features historical materials from Western Libraries Heritage Resources that explore the complex relationship between our love of high altitudes and issues of gender, race, and class.
exhibit;mountaineering;mountains;outdoor recreation;archives;historical photographs;rare books
Event Info: (360) 650-3097
Ages: All ages
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: library.wwu.edu/hr/events
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Mon 12/17/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 12/18/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 12/19/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 12/20/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 12/21/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 12/24/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 12/25/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 12/26/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 12/27/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 12/28/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 12/31/18 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 1/1/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 1/2/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 1/3/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 1/4/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 1/7/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 1/8/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 1/9/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 1/10/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 1/11/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 1/14/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 1/15/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 1/16/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 1/17/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 1/18/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 1/21/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 1/22/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 1/23/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 1/24/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 1/25/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 1/28/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 1/29/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 1/30/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 1/31/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 2/1/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 2/4/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 2/5/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 2/6/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 2/7/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 2/8/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 2/11/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 2/12/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 2/13/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 2/14/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 2/15/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 2/18/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 2/19/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 2/20/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 2/21/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 2/22/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 2/25/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 2/26/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 2/27/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 2/28/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 3/1/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 3/4/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 3/5/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 3/6/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 3/7/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 3/8/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 3/11/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 3/12/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 3/13/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 3/14/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 3/15/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Mon 3/18/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Tue 3/19/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Wed 3/20/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Thu 3/21/19 at 11am-4pm 
 • Fri 3/22/19 at 11am-4pm